My small world

Standard

When I was a kid,

My mother told me

I am the center of her universe,

And my father said

I am the apple of his eye,

And naïve as I was, I took that to mean,

I am everything, I am supreme!

For my world was tiny,

And I was endearing,

As only a kid can be.

 

When I started going to school,

I realized there are hundreds others just like me.

The world suddenly seemed much bigger!

Still, my teachers told me

I am hardworking and sincere,

And my best friend said

I am absolutely the greatest.

And naïve as I was, I took that to mean

I am very special, I am better than the rest!

For my world was still quite small

And I was innocent,

As only a child can be.

 

When college began,

I realized I am one among thousands, maybe more

The world had split wide open!

Still, my professors told me

I have potential, I shall go far

And my friends said

I am the most dependable,

And naïve as I was, I took that to mean

I’m a ‘somebody’, I’m good enough!

For my world was not yet big enough,

And I was a dreamer

As only a dewy-eyed college girl can be.

 

Then almost as if at once,

I grew up into an adult, I was on my own.

It hit me that the real world is actually MUCH bigger than I had ever imagined!

Now there are many who lavish hollow praises on me

And many who pretend to care

But polished as I have become, I realize

That it is my family and my friends who truly matter

For I understand that the real world may be huge

But my world… is still small!

And though I often make mistakes,

I walk with my feet firmly planted on the ground

As only a confident woman can.

6 responses »

    • Thank u so much 🙂 its true, isn’t it… No matter hw big the universe may seem, our real world always was n always will be made up of those few people who matter!

  1. This is so simple and so is life but only if we let it remain simple. Deep and beautiful. Beautiful coz of the purity of the words. 🙂

    • Thank you so much for taking out the time to read it! Glad you life it 🙂
      And you’re absolutely right…. Life’s simple as long as we keep it simple and don’t lose focus! 🙂

Leave a Reply

